How to File for Workers' Compensation in New Jersey
Recover the Benefits You Deserve with Levinson Axelrod
If you are injured or become ill on the job, you can claim worker’s compensation benefits. The law requires employers to obtain workers' compensation insurance of some form to protect all parties. When an injury occurs, the various parties must be notified. An experienced workers' compensation attorney in New Jersey can help protect your rights as a worker.
Certified Workers' Comp Lawyers in New Jersey
At Levinson Axelrod, we have attorneys certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey in the practice of workers' compensation. Our lawyers are specialists in this particular field, obtaining additional education and taking more tests to prove their knowledge. When you hire our firm, you can rest assured you will receive quality legal representation in New Jersey.
Contact Levinson Axelrod at (732) 440-3089 for a free case review!
Steps to File a Workers' Comp Claim
When you are involved in an accident at work, it is important that you inform your employer or supervisor of the incident. You should do it as soon as possible. You generally have 14 days to report the injury. However, with excuses, you have 90 days and in cases of hernias, you have 48 hours.
If it is an emergency, seek medical attention immediately. The workers' compensation carrier has the right to control the treatment, but not in case of an emergency.
Once your employer learns of the accident, they will alert their insurance company. Someone from the workers' comp insurance company will file a “First Report of Injury” and they will then review the details of the incident. The injured worker is entitled to temporary disability for when they are out of work, reasonable treatments for related conditions, and an award of permanency benefits.
If your employer refuses to provide temporary disability benefits or medical services, you should call us. Our team can work to obtain permanency benefits for any residual effect of the injuries you suffer.
Benefits Injured Workers Can Claim
New Jersey law provides injured workers with four benefits:
- Medical Benefits – The employer should provide coverage for medical treatment to cure and relieve the effects of the injury. The carrier controls the treatment. However, in emergencies, the injured employee should go to a hospital.
- Temporary Disability Benefits – If an employee sustains an injury that stops them from working for more than seven calendar days, temporary disability can cover lost wages.
- Benefits for Permanency – If an employee is permanently disabled or suffers permanent residuals because of a work injury, they may seek benefits based on the nature and extent of their injury.
- Death Benefits – If an employee dies because of a work-related injury, their dependents are eligible for workers' compensation benefits. This includes funeral expenses
- Dependents include legal spouses and natural children.
If the injury renders a worker totally and permanently disabled from any job, they may be eligible for payments for the rest of their life. These payments may come from the carrier alone, or from the State of New Jersey Second Injury Fund.
Seek the Compensation You Deserve! Call Today!
A work-related injury can be damaging and painful. If you were injured on the job, contact our New Jersey Workers' compensation attorneys today. We can help review your case and offer you the strongest plan to help recover the compensation you deserve.
We have recovered over a $1 billion collectively during the firm’s history for our clients. We want to do the same for you! Call today to schedule a free case review.