Fog Accidents in New Jersey
Fog results in 28,533 crashes, 10,448 injuries, and 495 deaths every year in the United States. It is the sixth leading cause of weather-related accidents nationwide. Fog is an extremely common occurrence. It forms when the surface of the earth cools down the layer of moisture in the air. Then, even just a light wind can stir the chilled air just enough to form the most common type of fog, known as radiation fog.
Tips for Driving in Fog
Fog is most common in the morning, but it can occur at any time of day. New Jersey sees an average of 30-40 foggy days per year. Here are some tips to follow when driving in the fog.
Sounds like a no-brainer, but driving fast in low visibility increases your chance of getting into a collision. When you can’t see more than a few feet in front of your vehicle, drive slowly so it takes less time for you to brake if the need arises.
Avoid using your high beams / brights
In low visibility, you might think more light would help. Using your high beams actually worsens visibility. If you have fog lights, use them. This illuminates the road ahead of you best, and also helps you stay visible to other vehicles.
When you are up against low visibility, you do not want to add any other obstacles, such as distracted driving. In fog, avoid other distractions such as using your cellphone, flipping through music, eating, etc.
Avoid stopping on the road
If at all possible, avoid pulling over to the side of the road during heavy fog. If you are facing mechanical difficulties, pull as far away from traffic as you can, use emergency flashers, and stay in your vehicle. Low visibility makes it difficult for other drivers to see you.
Does insurance cover weather related accidents, like crashes in fog?
If you have insurance and you are involved in a weather related accident, you will likely get some form of coverage. Required car insurance coverage in New Jersey is as follows:
- Bodily Injury Liability - $15k per person / $30k per accident
- Property Damage Liability - $5k per accident
- Personal Injury Protection - $15k minimum
- Uninsured and Underinsured Bodily Injury - $15k per person / $30k per accident
- Uninsured and Underinsured Property Damage - $5k per accident with $500 deductible
New Jersey is one of currently 12 states that operate on no-fault auto insurance laws. This means that all drivers who are covered by auto insurance can recover money in the event of an accident from their own insurance company (rather than an “at fault” driver’s insurance company) regardless of fault.
Contacting an Attorney After a Fog-Related Accident
If you or someone you love was involved in a car accident caused by fog, we invite you to contact the New Jersey auto accident lawyers at Levinson Axelrod, P.A. We do not charge a fee unless we win and initial consultations are free!